International Society for Plant Pathology
Promoting World-Wide Plant Health and Food Security
Home     Congresses     Commission on Global Food Security     Newsletter Archive     Subject Matter Committees     Global Plant Health Assessment     Resources     Administration

The ISPP promotes the world-wide development of plant pathology and the dissemination of knowledge about plant diseases and plant health management.


The ISPP (founded in 1968) is a member of the International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS), the International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS), in liaison with the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).


The general objective of the ISPP is being achieved by:

  • Sponsoring an International Congress of Plant Pathology, at intervals of 5 years, and sponsoring other international meetings on plant pathology and related subjects
  • Initiating and maintaining international cooperation; establishing committees to consider and report on special fields or problems in plant pathology; using other means as approved by Council

Constituent bodies of the ISPP

ISPP Fellows

Elected by Council on 20 August 1988 in Kyoto

  • Arthur Kelman dec.
  • RKS Wood 1919-2017

Elected by Council on 14 August 1998 in Edinburgh

  • Johannes Dekker dec.
  • Chiu Wei Fan dec.

Elected by Council on 26 August 2008 in Torino

  • Chuji Hiruki dec.
  • Wenhua Tang
  • Peter Scott
  • Brian Deverall dec.
  • James Cook
  • Charles Delp dec.

Elected by Council on 27 August 2013 in Beijing

  • Richard Falloon 
  • Richard Strange dec. 
  • Yaacov Katan  

Elected by Council on 31 July 2018 in Boston

  • Gloria Abad
  • Thomas Evans
  • M. Lodovica Gullino
  • Michele Heath
  • You Liang Peng
  • Dov Prusky
  • Mauritz Ramstedt
  • Paul Teng
  • Shinji Tsuyumu
  • Peter Williamson

Elected by Council on 22 August 2023 in Lyon

  • Yigal Elad (Israel)
  • Greg Johnson (Australia)
  • Segenet Kelemu (Kenya)
  • Young Jin Koh (Korea)
  • Yasuyuki Kubo (Japan)
  • Khaled Makkouk (Lebanon)
  • Malgorzata Manka (Poland)
  • Sally Miller (USA)
  • Cindy Morris (France)
  • Serge Savary (France)
  • Tomonori Shiraishi (Japan)
  • Valerie Verdier (France)
  • Mike Wingfield (South Africa)
  • Sek Man Wong (Singapore)



Consists of the Executive Committee and Councillors nominated by Associated Societies (or by nominating bodies in countries with no society of plant pathology) in proportion to the size of their membership. Advice on the Roles and Responsibilities of ISPP Councillors can be found here.  The draft Agenda for the ISPP Council meeting at at ICPP2023 in Lyon, France on Tuesday 22 August, 2023 can be found here The Council meeting will be from 6.00 pm to 9.30 pm in Salle Bellecour 1 of the Congress Centre (with light refreshments 6.00-6.45 pm)

International Newsletter on Plant Pathology

An official publication of the Society, to inform members of the Society, and others, of the activities of the Society and of related matters.
An archive of the Newsletter covering issues published from February 1970 are available on this website.


  • Individual membership is open to persons involved or interested in plant pathology. Applications should be addressed to the  Secretary-General
  • The fee of $16 US is payable annually to the Treasurer.