

ISPP Council Meeting Agenda at ICPP2023

(as August 12 2023)

In conjunction with the 12th International Congress for Plant Pathology (ICPP 2023)

Tuesday, August 22, 2023 – 6.00 pm to 9.30 pm in Salle Bellecour 1. (with light refreshments 6.00-6.45 pm)

Attendance: ISPP Council, Executive & Secretariat & ISPP Subject Matter

Committee/ ISPP Working Group Chairs or reps.

Apologies –Please send apologies (with message header APOLOGY ISPP Council 2023 and name of Society or SMC represented) by Email to andrea.masino@unito.it by 20 August 2023.

1 Welcome by ISPP President, Professor Jan Leach, and introduction of Officers.

Executive 2023-2028: President – Professor Yong-Hwan Lee (South Korea) Secretary General – Dr Teresa Coutinho (South Africa); Vice President – Dr Andrew Geering (Australia); Vice President – Professor Laura Mugnai (Italy); Treasurer – Professor Mathews Parit (USA), Immediate Past President, Professor Jan Leach (USA). See: (https://www.isppweb.org/newsletters/pdf/52_7.pdf)

Secretariat: Secretary General – Dr Teresa Coutinho (South Africa); Business Manager –Andrea Masino; Editor, *ISPP Newsletter* –Dr Daniel Hüberli (Australia); ISPP Web Manager (Peter Williamson (Australia) Editor in Chief, *Food Security* – Dr Serge Savary (France).

- 2 Self-Introduction of Councillors and Subject Matter Committee Chairs.
- 3 Noting of Minutes of ISPP Council 2018 (Boston USA). (Attachments 1 a and 1 b)

Motion 2023-1. The Minutes of the 2018 ISPP Council Meeting are accepted.

- 4 (a) ISPP 2018-2023 and Council consideration of the Program for 2023-2028: (Attachment 2)
 - (i) Congresses International Congress on Plant Pathology and International year of Plant Health 2020
 - (ii) Associated Societies / Council members' involvement in ISPP, as well as other initiatives and the World Directory of Plant Pathologists (Att 2. Appendix A)
 - (iii) ISPP Subject Matter Committees (SMCs) (Att 2. Appendix B) and Task Forces; Resilience Bursary for Plant Pathologists (Att 2. Appendix C)

Motion 2023-2. ISPP Council endorses the decision by the ISPP Executive to obtain full ownership of the Journal and to sign a new publishing agreement with Springer Nature for 2024-2032.

- (iv) Publications ISPP Newsletter, the Journal and Books; Journal Purchase
- (v) Awards Jakob Eriksson Prize for Plant Pathology, the Fran E Fisher Award and Fellows of ISPP (Att 3)

Motion 2023-3. That Council elect as Fellows of the International Society for Plant Pathology the following nominees:

Elad, Yegal	Miller, Sally
Johnson, Greg	Morris, Cindy
Kelemu, Segenet	Savary, Serge
Koh, Young Jin	Shiraishi, Tomonori
Kubo, Yasuyuki	Verdier, Valerie
Makkouk, Khaled	Wingfield, Mike
Mańka, Malgorzata	Wong, Sek Man

(vi) Administration and Executive including financial report and forward budget.

Revisions to Statutes and Rules of Procedure (Greg Johnson)

Motion 2023-4. Council approves amendment of (missing text in) ISPP Rule 5 As follows (in red)

Rule 5: The Council shall consist of members appointed by Member Societies and by Nominating Bodies. Nominating Bodies can only nominate one Councillor...

(b) Treasurer's Report (Mathews Paret). (Attachment 3)

Motion 2023-5. That the Treasurer's report be accepted.

- (c) Election of ISPP Fellows (Jan Leach)
- (e) New Business and Suggestions from Councillors and SMCs
- (f) Report from the ICPP2028 committee. (Andrew Geering)
- 5 Any Other Business
 - (i) World Health Day
 - (ii) A Plant Pathologist's Pledge

6 Acceptance of Reports

Motion 2023-6. That the reports to Council from Executive and Secretariat members, and from associated societies and subject matter committees be accepted.

Moved.. Seconded

Motion 2023-7. That the ISPP Work Program for 2023-2028 be endorsed.

Moved. Seconded

- 7 ISPP COVID years
- 8 Closing Remarks

Vote of thanks to outgoing Executive, Councillors and Subject Matter Committee Chairs.

Group Photograph and Council and SMC reps invited to stay for informal discussions.