International Society for Plant Pathology
Promoting World-Wide Plant Health and Food Security
     Welcome to ISPPWeb Home     Congresses     Food Security     Newsletter Archive     Subject Matter Committees     Resources     Administration
 

ISPP Subject Matter Committee: Oomycetes

Chair: Dr  Gloria  Abad
Address: Oomycetes-Fungi Leader, USDA-APHIS-PPQ-Center for Plant Health Science & Technology, CPHST Beltsville Laboratory, Bldg 580-East, Powder Mill Rd, Beltsville, MD 20705, USA.
Phone: 301 313 9340
Fax:
Mobile:
Email: gloria.abad@aphis.usda.gov

Coming Events

 Past Events

 

Members of the Oomycetes Committee 21st March 2018

Name Oomycetes Committee Country   Organization & Position e-mail Areas of work or interest Oomycetes Groups
Gloria Abad Chair USA Senior Plant Pathologist, USDA-APHIS-PPQ-Science and Technology Beltsville Laboratory and Adjunct Professor Pennsylvania State University.  gloria.abad@aphis.usda.gov Plant Pathology, Molecular Biology, Taxonomy, Identification, Diagnostics, Exotic species for the USA. Phytophthora, Pythium, Phytopythium, Pythiogeton, Downy Mildews
Andre Levesque Co-chair Canada Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Science and Technology Branch, Partnerships & Planning Directorate, Special Advisor  Andre.Levesque@AGR.GC.CA Plant Pathology, Molecular Biology, Taxonomy, Identification, Diagnostics Phytophthora, Pythium, Phytopythium, Pythiogeton, Downy Mildews
Marco Thines Co-chair Germany Professor, Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre (BiK-F) and the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Department of Biological Sciences Marco.Thines@senckenberg.de Genomics, Molecular Taxonomy, Evolution, Population Genetics, Phylogenetics Oomycetes Multiple Genera, including new
David Cooke Co-chair UK Senior Plant Pathologist, The James Hutton Institute, Dundee, UK david.cooke@hutton.ac.uk Plant Pathology, Molecular Taxonomy, Phylogenetics, Population Biology & Evolution Phytophthora, Downy Mildews
Sophien Kamoun Member UK Professor of Biology, University of East Anglia, UK. and Group Leader, The Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich, UK sophien.kamoun@tsl.ac.uk Plant Pathology, Genomics, Effector Biology, Immunity Phytophthora, Downy Mildews
Thomas Jung  Member Czech Republic Phytophthora Research Centre at Mendel University in Brno, Czech Republic, Head Scientific Leader  thomas.jung@mendelu.cz Global Diversity, Biogeography and Population Genetics, Adaptation and Speciation, Host-Phytophthora Interactions and Resistance, The Threat of Exotic Species to European Forests.

Phytophthora, Nothophytophthora
 Niklaus Grunwald Member  USA  USDA ARS grunwaln@oregonstate.edu   Epidemiology, Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, Population genetics Phytophthora 
 Frank Martin Member USA USDA-ARS. Research Plant Pathologist Frank.martin@ars.usda.gov  Plant Pathology, Molecular Biology, Taxonomy, Identification, Diagnostics  Phytophthora, Pythium, downy mildews, Phytopythium, Aphanomyces
 Jo Anne Crouch Member USA  USDA-ARS-Systematic Mycology & Microbiology Laboratory.  Research Molecular Biologist   joanne.crouch@ars.usda.gov Plant Pathology, Genomics, Population Biology, Molecular Biology, Systematics, Community Ecology, Identification, Diagnostics  Downy Mildews
Treena Burgess Member Australia Centre for Phytophthora Science and Management, Murdoch university, Perth, Australia T.Burgess@murdoch.edu.au molecular taxonomy, population genetics, systematics, diveristy and distribution, evolution, biology, pathogenicity Phytophthora 
Guillaume Bilodeau Member Canada CFIA-ACIA Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Research Scientist and Adjunct Professor Universite Laval, Quebec, Canada Guillaume.Bilodeau@inspection.gc.ca Plant Pathology, Molecular markers development, Identification, Diagnostics, Genotyping, Genomics and Metagenomics, regulated fungi  Phytophthora, Pythium, Downy Mildews 
Paloma Abad-Campos Member Spain Universitat Politècnica de València - Instituto Agroforestal Mediterráneo
  Associate professor
pabadcam@eaf.upv.es Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Identification, Epidemiology Phytophthora and Phytopythium
Sylvia Fernández-Pavía  Member Mexico  IIAF-Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolás de Hidalgo, Plant Pathology Laboratory fernandezpavia@hotmail.com  Plant Pathology, Identification, Population Characterization Mainly Phytophthora, some Pythium and Phytopythium species 
Ales Lebeda Member Czech Republic Palacky University in Olomouc, Faculty of Science, Department of Botany, Professor ales.lebeda@upol.cz Plant Pathology, Population Biology and Genetics, Epidemiology, Community Ecology, Virulence variation, Disease Control and Fungicide Resistance, Host Resistance and Resistance Breeding  Downy Mildews (B. lactucae, P. cubensis, P. halstedii)
 Mohamed F.R. Khan Member  USA  North Dakota State University & University of Minnesota  Mohamed .khan@ndsu.edu  Management of Sugarbeet diseases Aphanomyces 
 Yazmin Rivera Member  USA   USDA-APHIS-PPQ-S&T-Center for Plant Health Science and Technology Yazmin.rivera@aphis.usda.gov Plant Pathology, Molecular Biology, Oomycetes, Diagnostics, Population Genetics   Downy Mildews (Plasmopara, Peronospora, Peronosclerospora, Sclerophthora)
John Bienapfl  Member USA USDA APHIS PPQ S&T      CPHST Beltsville Laboratory Molecular Biologist John.C.Bienapfl@aphis.usda.gov Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Molecular Biology, Identification Phytophthora, Downy Mildews
Hemilse Palmucci Member Argentina Universidad de Buenos Aires
Cátedra de Fitopatología Facultad de Agronomía
palmucci@agro.uba.ar Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Diseases Control  Pythium, Phytophthora 
Pablo Grijalba Member Argentina Researcher and Professor. Plant Pathology-University of Buenos Aires grijalba@agro.uba.ar Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Disease Management  Pythium, Phytophthora, Phytopythium 
 Fe M. Dela Cueva Member Philippines  Plant Pathology Lab., Institute of Plant Breeding, University of the Philippines Los Banos  fmdcueva@yahoo.com;  fmdelacueva@up.edu.ph  Plant Pathology, Host-Plant Resistance, Diagnostics  Downy Mildews 
Leonardo Schena  Member  Italy Dipartimento di Agraria. Università mediterranea di Reggio Calabria  lschena@unirc.it  Plant Pathology, Molecular Biology, Taxonomy, Identification, Diagnostics  Phytophthora 
Ronald French-Monar  Member  USA USDA-APHIS-PPQ-FO-Plant Germplasm Quarantine Program Ronald.D.French@aphis.usda.gov  Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Management, Isolation, Quarantine Phytophthora, Pythium 
Chris Spies Member South Africa ARC-Plant Health and Protection, Stellenbosch, South Africa. Researcher spiesc@arc.agric.za  Taxonomy, Phylogenetics, Identification, Diversity, Plant Pathology  Pythium, Phytopythium, Phytophthora, Lagenidium, Pythiogeton
Hai Nguyen  Member Canada Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, , Science and technology branch, Research Scientist Hai.Nguyen@agr.gc.ca Zoosporic fungi, Taxonomy, Molecular Biology, Genomics, Bioinformatics Pythium
Santa Olga  Cacciola Member Italy University of Catania, Department of Agricultural, Food and Environment, Italy
olgacacciola@unict.it  Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Identification, Molecular biology.
Phytophthora, Pythium
Koji Kageyama Member Japan River Basin Research Center, Gifu University, Professor  kageyama@green.gifu-u.ac.jp  Plant Pathology, Diagnostics, Identification, Molecular biology.
 Phytophthora, Pythium, Phytopythium 
Carla Garzon Member USA Associate Professor of Plant Pathology, Oklahoma State University, Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology.  carla.garzon@okstate.edu Population genetics, epidemiology, diagnostics, phylogenetics, chemical control, disease suppression Pythium, Phytopythium, Phytophthora
Palem Chowdappa  Member India  Director, Central Plantation Crops Research Institute. Kasaragod -671124, Kerala, India  Pallem22@gmail.com  Identification,
Diagnosis, molecular biology, Population biology and management of Phytophthora, Alternaria and Colletotrichum 
associated with horticultural crops
Phytophthora
 Pamela Roberts Member USA Department of Plant Pathology, Southwest Florida Research and Education Center, University of Florida. Proffesor pdr@ufl.edu Diagnostics, Integrated plant management, Epidemiology, Plant Pathology Phytophthora, Downy Mildews
 Lina Quesada Member  USA North Carolina State University,  Department of Plant Pathology - Entomology, Assistant Proffesor lmquesad@ncsu.edu  Biosurveillance of plant pathogens, integrated disease management in vegetable crops, pathogen population genetics and genomics  Phytophthora, Downy mildew pathogens 
Bruno Scanu Member Italy  Dipartimento di Agraria - Sezione di Patologia vegetale ed Entomologia, (SPaVE). Università degli Studi di Sassari bscanu@uniss.it Plant pathology, Diagnostics, Molecular Taxonomy and Systematics, Population genetics, Diveristy in Mediterranean regions, Biology and Ecology Phytophthora
Michael Coffey Member USA Department of Plant Pathology & Microbiology
University of California, Riverside. Proffesor. Curator of World Phytophthora Genetic Resources Collection (WPC)
coffey@ucr.edu; m_d_coffey@yahoo.com Plant pathology, Molecular Taxonomy and Systematics, collections Phytophthora, Pythium, Phytopythium
David Shew Member  USA North Carolina State University,  Department of Plant Pathology - Entomology, Professor shew@ncsu.edu  impacts of soil chemistry on pathogen biology; impacts of host resistance gene deployment on pathogen populations; mechanisms of pathogen adaptation to host resistance; integrated management Phytophthora
Timothy Miles Member USA California State University Monterey Bay. Assistant Professor of Plant Pathology
tmiles@csumb.edu Plant Pathology, Genomics, Bioinformatics, Diagnostics, Fungicide Resistance, Molecular Biology Phytophthora, Pythium, Phytopythium and Downy Mildew species
Jim Huang Member Taiwan Taiwan Agricultural Research Institute. Plant Pathology Division,
Associate Researcher
jhhuang@tari.gov.tw Plant Pathology, Taxonomy, Identification  Phytophthora, Pythium, Phytopythium, Pythiogeton, Downy Mildews

 


© The International Society for Plant Pathology Inc. All rights reserved.
Web Site: Peter Williamson | Contact Us - Report a Bad Link | Revised: 23/03/2018 12:36:32 PM